HOME  |  ABOUT LGS  |  ABOUT LGSF  |  CONTACT  |  DONATE 

 

© 2020 LGS FOUNDATION

This website is not intended to serve as medical advice.

Please read our full disclaimer

rareasone-socialmediaprofileimage_2.png

LGSF Webinars

Empowering Families through Education

Upcoming Webinars

Rescue Med Series: Part 2

Rescue Medications...

A Clinicians Perspective & Advice

Wednesday, July 8th, 2020

2pm PT | 3pm Mountain | 4pm CT | 5pm EST

Guest Speaker

Dr. Michael Chez

In this session, Dr. Michael Chez—a pediatric Neurologist at Sutter Health in California—will breakdown the different kinds of rescue meds, how they work, and what they are typically used for. He'll help families understand how he thinks about when and how to most effectively use rescue medications and will speak to how to engage your loved one's neurologist about making an individualized Seizure Action Plan.

Webinar made possible with support from:

Rescue Med Series: Part 3

The Lived Rescue Medication Experience

Wednesday, July 22nd, 2020

3pm PT | 4pm Mountain | 5pm CT | 6pm EST

Join our panel of caregiver experts as we discuss their personal experiences with rescue medications, advocating, and individualized seizure emergency plans. 

Webinar made possible with support from:

Hear Families first-hand experiences 

Rescue Med Series: Part 4

Individualized Seizure Emergency Plan (I-SEP)

Wednesday, August 12th, 2020

2pm PT | 3pm Mountain | 4pm CT | 5pm EST

Hands-on, Peer-led workshop to help you develop or update your loved one's Individualized Seizure Emergency Plan (I-SEP)

Webinar made possible with support from:

Seizure Emergency Plans

Archived Webinars

Untitled design (5).png

Rescue Med Series Part 1: 

Rescue Medications in Severe DEE's

Anne T. Berg, PhD

Elaine Wirrell, MD

Rescue medication community results. What's out there. How to choose the right one(s). 

View Elaine's slides

View Anne's slides

Parent Driven Data:

What do we know about LGS? 

Anne T. Berg, PhD

The LGS Foundation welcomes Anne Berg, PhD in a discussion on her recent Natural History Project and Ability Study findings. These studies focus on parent and caregiver reporting of the multiple challenges that come with the LGS diagnosis.

View Slides

Anup Patel.jpg

How to manage LGS in the current Covid-19 Pandemic

Anup Patel, MD

How is the current COVID-19 pandemic affecting those in the rare epilepsy community?
What does the LGS community need to keep in mind during this crisis?
How can we prepare for our loved one’s tele-health visit with the neurological provider?

LGS During the Covid-19 ERA

Tracy Dixon-Salazar, PhD

Dr Tracy Dixon-Salazar LGSF Director of Research and Strategy answers questions regarding the Covid-19 pandemic, and its impact on the LGS community. 

kannon 8.jpg

Covid-19 Coping Tips Learned from the Rare Community

Amanda Cothern, LPC

Dr. Amanda Cothern will share her insights into the LGS community and how the lessons learned from caring for a loved one with a rare disease can be applied to coping in the age of a pandemic. 

Effective IEP Advocacy Skills

Monika Jones, JD

Overview of the skills needed to make you an effective advocate during the IEP process.

tom-stanton.jpg

Seizure Alert Devices & Technology

Tom Stanton

Tom Stanton, Executive Director of the Danny Did Foundation will share his knowledge of the most popular seizure detection devices on the market and how effective they may be.

Rescue Medications

Larry Hirsch, MD

When do you give them? What options are out there? Why should you have a Seizure Action Plan? What are the risks and/or benefits of using them?

B7G_5TD__400x400.jpg

Why the FDA needs to hear your voice

Tracy Dixon-Salazar, PhD

On November 1st, the LGS Foundation will host a meeting for individuals affected by developmental and epileptic encephalopathies (DEE), including LGS, and their caregivers to share what it is like living with DEE and LGS with the FDA and those who make drugs and devices.

Sudden Unexpected Death in Epilepsy (SUDEP)

Jeffrey Buchhalter, MD, PhD

What is SUDEP? Can it be prevented and how? Is there ongoing research into the causes of SUDEP?

millichapjohnj_epi.jpg

What is LGS? 

John Millichap, MD

How is LGS diagnosed? What are the goals for treatment? 

View Slides

LGS & Clinical Trials

Eric Marsh, MD, PhD

What treatments are approved for seizures in LGS and what other treatments are used? What is a clinical trial?  Get updated information on current trials.

kannon 8.jpg

Caregiver Burnout

Amanda Cothern, LPC

The importance of self-care. Know the signs of caregiver burnout and how to prevent it.

The Latest Research in LGS

Tracy Dixon-Salazar, PhD

Learn about what's new in LGS research and science.